Poloniex Supported/Restricted Countries Guide of 2023

Poloniex is an emerging digital platform that facilitates cryptocurrency exchanges for crypto enthusiasts globally. Established in 2014, the company mainly operates in San Francisco, California. 

Although the Poloniex trading platform is headed in the United States, it has become increasingly popular among users from different regions. However, it hardly comes as a surprise due to its wide range of multiple cryptocurrencies.

Poloniex users are supported with tons of services, including lending, futures trading, deposits, etc. The Platform is also known to offer a basic spot trading experience to users interested in trading crypto pairs, while margin trading is provided for those interested in using leverage. Currently, Poloniex can be accessed through a desktop browser as well as the Poloniex mobile app

So, how far does the company extend in its presence in terms of usability? Today, we’re here to find out just that in our Poloniex review. Continue reading to know more about Poloniex restricted countries, the accepted ones, and more.

Which Countries Can Use Poloniex?

Poloniex is taken to be a crypto to crypto exchange that offers a large selection of altcoins for users to trade with. As of now, Poloniex offers its service to over 100 countries & regions. Not only that, but the company also provides 365 multilingual customer support. 

Poloniex countries guide

Here’s a list of accepted countries that can use Poloniex:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Virgin Islands, British
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

While the company does provide its service to many countries, the area of accessibility for transactions remains a little limited. Don’t worry. We’ll be providing all the deeds about it down below.

Buying Crypto On Poloniex With Simplex

As most users may be aware, Poloniex also offers transactions through Simplex, a payments processing company. 

However, not every accepted country can process their payments through Simplex. The mode of payment is separated into two forms: cards and bank accounts.

Through a Simplex bank account, the following countries can purchase crypto in Poloniex: United Kingdom, Portugal, Slovakia, Estonia, Denmark, Andorra, Germany, Australia, Belgium, Greece, Austria, Hungary, Bulgaria, Iceland, Canada, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Israel, Luxembourg, Lithuania, New Zealand, Malta, Netherlands, Slovenia, Norway, France, Poland, Sweden, Romania, Switzerland, Spain, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Finland, and Croatia. 

Customers can also buy crypto via debit & credit cards through Simplex in most of the accepted countries besides: Sudan, Syria, Spratly Islands, South Sandwich Islands, South Georgia, Western Sahara, West Bank (Palestinian Territory), United States Virgin Islands, United States of America, Paracel Islands, Palestine, Pakistan,  the Democratic Republic of the Congo, North Mariana Islands, Lebanon, Jan Mayen, Iraq, Iran, Heard and McDonald Islands, Gaza Strip, Southern and Antarctic Lands, DPR Korea (North Korea), Cuba, Crimea, Christmas Island, Bouvet Island, Botswana, Antarctica, American Samoa, and Afghanistan. 

Poloniex offers its users low fees for trading their crypto assets. However, users pay large fees (via third parties) to directly buy crypto with fiat currency since the trading platform does not handle direct fiat purchases. This is where Poloniex outsources a third party, i.e., Simplex, to buy digital assets like Bitcoin with fiat currency.

How To Open A Poloniex Account

Potential users can easily initiate a Poloniex sign up on the cryptocurrency exchange platform by simply providing an email address & password. To be eligible, you’ll have to be 18 years and above and must be a resident of any of the accepted Poloniex country. During the sign-up process, you can also make use of the Poloniex referral code (if you have any).

Once your account is set and verified through email, you’ll be requested to set up 2FA (two-factor authentication) – which you can opt-out of. After creating your Poloniex account, your account is automatically set to Level 1, which you can further upgrade to level 2 through a Poloniex KYC account verification

Level 2 verification offers users more advanced features such as a $500,000 daily withdrawal limit, access to expedited customers service, margin trading, and more. For this, users are generally required to provide proof of address and photo identification. However, the required document for the verification may vary depending on which country/region you may be from. 

Poloniex Countries FAQ

Is Poloniex available in the U.S.?

As stated on the Poloniex user agreement page on its official site, any resident or citizen of the United States is prohibited from using Poloniex. Hence, the Platform is not available to U.S. individuals or any other person from a restricted territory.

What type of security does Poloniex offer its users?

For Poloniex crypto exchange, the Platform currently offers standard security features, including identity verification, email authentication, and 2FA (two-factor authentication). Although Poloniex’s security was compromised during the previous years, the company hit back with stronger updates on fund withdrawals.

Crypto Affiliate Programs » Poloniex Supported/Restricted Countries Guide of 2022
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap